Uncategorized

What I’m Enjoying: April 2017

 

Watching:

I finally caught up on TV enough to try something new, and I powered through all 11 existing episodes of Trial & Error on NBC. It’s so good. It’s a very The Office or Parks and Recreation style show, with the documentary element, and the same esoteric humor, but the focus is on a murder trial in a small town. It plays with a lot of true crime tropes, which I love. But it’s also just hilarious and kind of sweet and weird and so much fun. If you like Parks and Recreation, I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Reading:

I’ve been powering through some non-fiction books, and one I’m really loving is Things No One Will Tell Fat Girls by Jes Baker. It’s about body positivity, but is done through a mix of essays that are hilarious, real, and sometimes super informational and have great historical perspectives. I also loved Pushed by Jennifer Block, which is about the medicalization of birth in the United States. I contain multitudes, guys.

Listening to: 

In early April, I went with my mom and best friend to see a touring production of Hedwig and the Angry Inch. Which, if you don’t know it, is an amazing musical that kind of feels more like a concert. One of the songs in it, called The Origin of Love, is an all-time favorite of mine. And I discovered this cover, which I listen to like once a day. You’re welcome.

Wearing: 

Half of the answer to this is still Lularoe. But for an actual makeup endorsement, let me tell you about the new Marc Jacob Highliner Gel Crayon colors. I already used the black version of this eyeliner daily because it stays well, lasts a long time, and is SO pigmented on my waterline. I never really trusted the colored versions, because no colored eyeliner has ever really shown up on my waterline, but the other day I decided to try Mist Me? an Whirl(pool) in this stuff and oh man, guys. This is a random Instagram photo of me with it on, but look at the color you can see even from farther away! It’s even more vibrant in person.

Planning: 

Well, I have my dates specifically set out for my November Disney trip, so some effort has gone into that. But my next trip is to Alaska- my (step)sister is having a baby in the next couple of weeks, so I’m going to go out in early May over my school break and cuddle that baby. She’s actually going to have my middle name- I’m Sarah Beth, she’ll be Serenity Beth. My sister also has two stepkids, so basically I’m “planning” by buying them all an excessive amount of gifts. A corner of my room is full of presents, books, baby clothes, etc to bring out there with me. I’m plotting my ascendance to Coolest Aunt Ever.

Trying out: 

I don’t have a lot of good stuff for this one. I suck at all my goals, tbh. Maybe next time.

Leave a Reply

